The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process.“

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the author argues that Dura-Sock should less their investment in their Endure manufacturing precess in order to increase their profit. It seems convincing at first glance, however, weak assumption leads me to question the credibility of the argument.

First, the recent study must be analized in detail, we do not know whether it is credible or not. The author should fathom the study with which group of customers converted it and how many number of them participated in. Moreover, exact number of money which is considered as wasted should be afforded, also. It is quite hasty to judge by the study that Dura-Sock has been wasting their money with their Endure process.

Second, the author should give more reliable assumption with the survey on largemarket which is located in northeastern United States cities. It is plausible that largest market could affect the significant income of the company, although, the largest market can not be generalized as the whole nation. Customers of northeastern United States might prefer design to durablilty but it does not mean that they the customers in the other sides of nation also share their favor. Therefore, the socks company could not make profit by blindly follow the result of the survey.

Finally, the more detail assumption should be given by the author on the most value Dura-Socks’. Their customers might appeared to prefer stylish socks than durable socks but it should be assured that not all suvey does show the truth. We can assume that cutomers still prefer the durable socks through the recent study. If company reduce their investment in Endure manufaturing and it cause the income with durable socks, even though good appearence of the socks. It is likely that customers might have found more stylish socks because they are satisfied with the durability.

In summary, the weakness of assumption compromise the author’s argument in many grounds. To bolster, the more specific and detail assumption should be considered and affored to the argument.