The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Your task

The memo by the vice president of marketing suggest that the company can increase there profit by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process. The writer has come to this conclusion based on the evidence that the average customer purchases their company's socks every three months even though they guarantee the socks two years durability due to Endure manufacturing process and also based the survey done in companies biggest selling market areas. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, the author should provide information of following three unstated assumptions.

First of all, author assume that the Endure process which they advertise is actually producing socks which are durable for two years. Just by doing advertisement doesn't mean that the actually durability in condition the consumer is using the product is same as in testing conditions. For Example, if we take the example of automobile industry, the mileage shown in advertisement of SUV car is not the same as when used by the user. Many a time such advertisement show such lucrative figures just to attract customers, but in ground reality this provided estimates are based on controlled environment lab testing results. So, the author assumption of the claim that their product is durable for long duration of two years, produce with the help Endure manufacturing process could be wrong. Unless the author provide proper stats on such claim it is hard to draw such conclusion.

Secondly, the author assume that the customer survey of the biggest selling market is true and the product is most valued due to it's stylish appearance and multi-colored socks, but there could be other important reason which could be unexplored in the survey. For Example, the customer says the product is most valued due to stylish appearance or the availability in multiple colors, but it could be the case that there could be different competitors in the market which have same above factors but the product is not that durable as the Dura-sock. The customer may been preferring Dura-sock over their competitors based on factor of durability on top of stylish appearance or multi-colored.The author should provide the information of other such competitors and evaluate what make Dura-sock most valued.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author could provide more information and evidence of above stated assumption then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.