The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument which appeared on the memo from the vice president of marketing at the Dura-Sock concludes with the statement that the company is wasting money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process.This statement, which might be true is not well supported by the arguments. The conclusion drawn at the end is supported by the belief which are not warranted.

Firstly, it is conveyed that the average customer purchases the dura socks after every 3 months. This could mean that there could be a fault in the manufacturing process itself. The materials used while manufacturing he socks could well be adulterated. In depth knowledge of the manufacturing process is not given.

Secondly, there could be a problem in the patenting process itself. No guarantee or background about the patenting process is given. Maybe the patenting process which is used to determine the durability of the socks, is itself not flawless. If this is the case, further process would likely get affected, giving unwanted conclusion. No substantial information is given about the patenting process which makes the conclusion far too vague.

Thirdly, maybe the advertising process of the dura socks is not complacent. The argument assumes that the advertising process is used to its full potential. Only the customers of northeastern United States cities are surveyed. Although it is the largest market for the socks, we are not given the data about how large it really is, it could well be just above 50 percent making the conclusion of the argument far too vague.

Finally, the argument concludes that the profits of the company would increase if they discontinue the manufacturing process of the socks. This sentence is based on the assumption that the net loss occurred by the socks is the highest. There is a possibility that some other product of the company might suffer more loss than the dura socks, which would mean those products would have to be eliminated first. Also, maybe the net loss suffered by the socks could actually be less than the net loss of the company, which would make the decision of eliminating the socks futile.

Thus, it can be safely concluded that there could be a plethora of factors which could affect the given argument, the conclusion drawn from the arguments are not warranted by proofs and thus cannot be deemed as correct.