In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The author claims that to make significant contribution in any field of enterprise or industries, one should be first inspired by the the past achievements within that particular field. I do not agree upon the author's claims.It is not only the influence of the past achievements in any fields which help the significant contributions given in that field.There are lot more things which overall help to make such contributions.We cannot denay the fact that,past achievements surely help to influence the contributor to boost up the confidence and make significant contribution, but it is not only the reason.

If we look at any industry or entriprise which have made miracles in particular fields, they all just started with nothing but the will power. There are no such past achievement for such newly started institution. Though the workforce make significant contributions in that fields. Such people are influenced by the idea and the change it will make in the peoples life.If we look at the example of mobile gaint Apple or Internet Search Gaint like Google, they have just started with an idea, but the impact there work will have on the society inspired them to build such innovative products.

Also we cannot deny the fact that, the past achievements surely help to influence the contributor to make significant contributions. Any employee working in any big industries gets highly influenced by the past achievements. This not only influence the contributor but also nurture a feeling of reponsibility that, they also have to make significant contribution in there respective work. But this doesnt mean that you need to strongly influenced by the past to make such contributions.

If person if highly enthauistic about rocket science and he is highly influenced by the work done in space organisation like NASA or SpaceX. Then it will highly motivate him to make significant contributions like reusable rockets,etc. Because if we see the concept of reusable rocket many thought it was a impossible task, but alean musk and his scientific team believe in that concepts and made it possible.

In conclusion we can say that, it is good to be strongly influenced by the past achievements within that fields which will helps to give significant contributions, but it also possible to make good amount of contribution without getting influenced by past achievements.