The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum presented from the business manager of a television station conclude that they need to restore their time slot devoted to weather and local new to its former level in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing further advertising revenues. The business manager provide two reasons of support such as complaints receiving from viewers and cancellation of contract by local advertisers. The conclusion is based in following three assumptions.

Firstly, manager stated that complaints are received from viewers regarding coverage of weather and local news, but it may be the case that coverage is not proper and not the time duration for this programs. For example, the local news may not be covering many of curial events which need to properly reported and may have shown some unrelated and boring stuff or the weather reporting may not as detail and informative as it need to be. There could several other reasons of the complaints. The manager have not provided the information regarding any of the complaints of the viewers. So, just based several received viewers complaint it doesn't hold merit to blame the time duration of the late-night news program.

Secondly, manager stated that during this period the channel have lost many of the advertising contract from local businesses, but doesn't provide any further reason for such loses. The could be several other reason behind the withdrawal of advertising contract by local businesses, may be several businesses could be in losses due economical reasons and could not afford to advertise in the news channel. Furthermore, the advertisement frequency of the news channel may not good or it could be the case that the quality of advertising content is not up to to the marks. There could several different reason behind the loss of advertising contract from local businesses, but to the conclusion of the manager to hold water , he need to provide further reason behind such loss of contracts.

Finally, manager stated this phenomenon is the cause of change in time slot devoted for local news and weather, but does not provide any statistics of before this change. For example, the complaints and loss of contract could have be in large number before this change. The manager should have provide the earlier statistics to support this conclusion.

In conclusion, the manager conclusion as its stands now, is flawed. The manager need to provide further details for above assumption to make this conclusion further strong.