The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The owner of Movies Galore claims that in order to stop declining graph of their stores profits they should reduce the operating costs rather than increasing the movie rental price. The author also provide reason for the above claim on the basis on a store from their chain of stores. The claims is based on many assumption which need to be properly evaluated before drawing out such a strong conclusion.

First, Is the choices of people, the diversity and economical condition are same in downtown marston as at other location of stores. The reduction in operating costs may have worked for a particular store and may not work for other location of the stores. For example, A fancy restaurant serving multi cuisine meal may work at downtown area where public may be spending a lot of money and love to try to different food option, but the same menu would not work in a small areas where people love to eat the traditional meal and the economical condition is also poor.Therefore, the assumption that the plan worked for downtown marston would work for other location such as outskirts store is based on mere assumption. If the author could provide any information regarding the geographical conditions at different stores then this point could have some weightage.

Second, the author also claim that closing store at 6 pm rather than 9 pm would help decrease the operating cost, but this time downtown areas may have reduce after 6 pm since the office gets over and people return to thier home mostly leaving at outskirts areas. So since the potential buyers could be less after 6 pm in this downtown store. On the other hand a store in a outskirt areas where most of public live, this time after the office could be time when most people visit the store to buy out some movies to go back home and watch. Shutting down store at 6 pm may decrease the stores sell and could adversely affect the overall profit rather than decrease in operating cost.Hence, the author assumption of closing store at 6 pm stand unwarrented as it could affect other profit drawing factors. The author should also provide the trend timings and rush hours information to assert this claim.

Finally,Is all category or range of people have same taste of movie? Some may like one other may not. The author claims that the should remove out more than 5 years old movie, but he doesnt take into account that people at times may love to watch a old movies. The downtown store where this change of removing old movie stock could have potential youth buyers who love to watch recent movies rather than old classics, but there could be the areas where potential buyers are above 50years and who are fond of old classics rather than latest movies. By doing as the author claims the stores could lose out particular category old movie lover potential buyers which will surely decrease the stores sell. Hence, the author should analyize the different category of movie lovers based of age group before implementing this same change at different stores.

In conclusion, the author claims is based on the succes of plan on a single store and multiple assumption related to it. If author could provide information of the above raised question then this conslusion could have be further strengthen.