The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

In the memorandum, the author argues that the replacement of butter with margarin has almost no impact on thier customers. The author’s argument seems sound at first, however, lack of explanations leads me to question the soundness of the argument.

Fisrt, the customers of the Happy Pancake House might not be satisfied with the restaurants’ service. The exact number of customers should be afforded for substantiate the dissatisfaction of customers. 2 percent of complained customers might be significant if the number of total customer is large. Even if the total customer number is small, 2 percent of cutomers cannot indicate the happiness of the other 98 percent of customers. It is plausible that there should be more customers who have complains about butter but they just fell need not to tell them.

Second, the report from the servers is not reliable since there are many flaws. Servers might hesitate to tell their boss about the problem occured in the hall and also it is likely that they might forget what they heard. A survey, more compelling report, should be conducted on the customers. It would be more desirable report that explains whether the customers feel happy with the margarine.

Finally, the author should give more acceptable explanation on the customer’s awareness between butter and margarine. The customers might find differences between butter and margarine when they eat. They recognized the change but they merely do not want to make extra action during their pleasant meal. Even though they missed the change, the restaurant should afford them a information and ask them to get proper feedback.

In summary, the author’s argument explanations are not convincing on many grounds. To bolster the author’s argument, more specific and concrete information should be afforded on the things I mentioned above.