The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years.“

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the letter the vice president’s argument seems convincing at first, however, lack of information lead me to question the credibility on the author’s argument.

Fisrtly, I have a reservation that the author considered the exact number of cars that pass through the Route 101 and 40. There are mint factors that cause the crack on the road, therefore it is too hasty too judge that Good Intentions Roadways has to be replaced by Appain Roadways. Route 101 might have more number of cars a day than Route 40, if the discripancy between two Route are remarkable it is possible that road paved by Appain might cracked soon in two years.

Secondly, the questions should be answered that state-of-the-art paving machinery improves the endurance of paved road or not. The recently purchased machinery need to be proved in quality but, as the author demonstrated, the machinary was purchased recently that the there might be no chance to prove whether the new machinary would help paving more permanent road or not.

Lastly, the specific information of the new quality-control manager should be new afforded on the question that the new manager is better than initial manager in paving more endurable road. A new manager does not represent the adroit and masterful manager, it is too rash for the author to conclude that the new manager would pave the road stronger and more solid. This is because that new manager might not know the condition and evironment around the Route better than the previous manager.

In summary, the author’s argument seems unconvincing on many grounds. Specific informations such as road condition, new machinary’s efficiency, new manager’s capacity and prices need to be considered more thoroughly.