The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memo, the author argues that Top Dog Pets Stores could reverse the declining sales and start making a profit. It seems plausible at first, however, a few assumptions lead me to question the argument.

The author should find detail information to provide more credible assumption on the circumstances between the past and nowaday. It is plausible that conditions of the past, 5 years ago, might be better than the present. Forexample, the economic condition of the past was better than now that without magazine the great number of pet sales was available. Even if the economic conditions were similar, the initial number of fish sales might be minute that increased number of 15 percent is also imperceptible.

Additionally, the author should give more convincing assumption on the strategy between fish sale and dog sale. This is because the traits between two pets are dissimilar, fish live in water and dogs live on ground, they are demanding in different ways. Moreover, the population of fish enthusiasts and dog lovers should be substantiated, the number of the fish enthusiasts might be large in 5 years ago, on the otherhand, dog lovers might be minute nowadays. Therefore, it is not a good assumption for Top Dog to blindly follow the Fish Eporium, which put their ads in Exotic Pets.

Finally, the author should consider the gap between the income and expenses of the Top Dog Store when they begin the advertisement. It is likely that advertisement through magazine could increase the income of the Top Dog. Nevertheless, advertising cost might override the income that Top Dog makes, since the advertisement cost a lot. Thus, it is better for Top Dog to view the profit in the long run instead of hastly put advertisement in the magazine.

In summary, some assumptions seems unconvincing on many grounds. Therefore, the author should consider more detail information to provide more convincing assumption.