The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

This memo is from the managing director Top Dog Pet Stores who gives an optimistic conclusion to accelerate their sales. The director concludes that if they will gave the advertisement in Exotic Pets City then sales of Top Dog Pet Stores will be increased and they can start making profit again. For that conclusion, various assumptions and observations are given in the statements. Five years ago fish emporium started advertising in that magazine and their sales increased 15 percent. Similarly in golf city, three fish emporium stores increased their sales by advertising in same magazine. But the given assumptions and observation does not provide the specific evidence to believe the conclusion.

Beginning with the first observation that five years ago the fish emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly and their sales increased by 15 percent. But there may be several other reasons for increasing sales. It may be possible that number of people immigrated in that area during these five years like to buy fish emporium for decoration. There may be also possibility that the people who live in that area may have disposition the fishes during these five years for home decoration. It may be possible the price of fish emporium was decreased during these years or More stores, restaurants or companies might be opened in that area who decorated space by fish emporium during these years. Therefore, the increased sales of fish emporium can have various reasons. So, how can the author make the assumption about magazine advertising and increased sales.

Then there is a comparison between the fish emporium and the Top Dog Pet Stores. How can anyone compare the sales of fish and sales of pet dogs. There may be number of possibilities to have smaller sales of pet dogs with compare to fish Emporium. It is clear that the fish emporium can be used at any place to decorate the space or as a show piece. Homes as well as professional places and companies can also buy fish emporiums. But we can’t know how much people of that area like dogs. The inclination towards dogs may be different for different persons. So, it is irrelevant analogy between fish emporium and pet dog sales.

The other observation is about the three stores of fish emporium in golf city which gain higher profits by advertising in the Exotic magazine. But that is clearly not analogues to pet dog sales. Generally people have predilection towards fish emporium which looks garish by multiple fishes, but all people does not have same tendency towards dogs, it may be one of the reason of why dog sales were decreased. There may be another reason of declining sales of dogs for example dogs need more attention and care compare to fish emporium.

Therefore, the given evidences are not good enough to bolster the managing director’s optimistic conclusion. If there are more evidences then the conclusion can be considerable. But with given evidences we can’t assume that the sales of dogs will be increased by advertising in Exotic Pet Magazine.