The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner argues that by focusing only on domestic cheese and discontinuing the imported cheese, the company can make a lot of profit. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To justify the argument, the owner should need to provide more information about the usage of imported cheese throuhgout the United States. Furthermore, a detailed study of usage of domestic and imported cheeses need to be provided in order to assess their sales rate in previous years.

First of all, the owner is claiming that last y...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.