The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the owner suggests that discontinuing stocking many of imported cheese is the best way to improve profits owing to the data of magazine, number of best-selling number and so on.

He points out that all of the five best-selling cheeses at the newest store are domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. It’s likely that the selling number of the top 5 indeed transcend other kinds of cheeses by a large amount. However, what’s the price of each brand of cheese? As we known, the profit is equal to revenue minus cost. Even though consumers prefer buying domestic cheeses to imported, it’s still possible that the profit of imported cheese is higher than domestic ones for the high unit price.

In addition, which kind of the best-selling cheeses are in different stores located in other cities? The owner recommends that all of the stores should stop stocking imported cheese. Nevertheless, it’s likely that residents of different areas don’t have the same preference to cheese. Even though it has a low probability that all of the citizens in U.S have unanimous choice, but the owner should provide readers with the best-selling list before making this significant decision.

He also mentions that the recent survey indicates that an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Which country publishes the magazine? It’s possible that this publisher is a local one in other countries except for U.S. Even though it’s published by U.S, we still don’t know whether the subscribers are uniformly distributed in every cities. It’s likely that most of the subscribers live in a certain city, so the data is suitable for the city but not for other cities.

On the other hand, it’s probable that the subscribing qualification is strict, such as wealth. Even though they really like some of the brands of cheeses which are expensive, it’s not necessary to prove that their consumption may raise the profit. At the same time, stores may lose some of the consumers routinely buying imported cheeses.

To sum up, before the owner deciding to discontinue stocking many of imported cheeses, he needs more comprehensive consideration.