The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the business manager recommends the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to the former level to avoid losing advertising revenues.

He points out that most of the complaints received form viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, he doesn't provide readers with what the total number of readers is and how many pieces of complaint the station receive. It's likely there are 100,000 people watch the program, and only 1 percent of them write the complaint letter. What's more, it's likely that 700 people complaint the lower coverage of weather and local news among the rather huge sample.

He also says that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts. Nevertheless, he doesn't give us what the economic situation is and how many viewers watch the late-night news program compared with other stations. It's likely that there's a serious recession causing the advertisers to cut down their cost, and the supervisors decide to stop signing any contracts with the station. On the other hand, it's possible that the quality of the station's program is declining. On the contrary, other stations make more efforts to attract the viewers by inviting a famous host. Hence, the viewers of the station would choose the other stations' program instead of that of the station.

At the end of the memo, the manager concludes that the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to the former level for losing advertising revenues. However, changing to the original arrangement isn't necessary to get the contract back. The manager should provide us with the total viewers of national news and weather and local news. It's likely that the amount of watching national news transcends that of weather and local news. Consequently, the result may show that losing the contract isn't contributed to the programs' arrangement.

To sum up, before convincing the supervisors to alter the programs, the manager needs to get more data and analyze them carefully.