The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the business manager of Happy Pancake House suggests that replacing butter with margarine throughout every store for few customers complained and lowered the cost.

The manager indicates that only 2 percent of customers have complained, and concludes that 98 percent are happy with the change. How can he regard no comment equals to satisfaction? It’s likely that the customers who perceived the subtle change may not willing to come to the restaurant again rather than directly express their opinion. In this case, the company save the cost but lose the customers at the same time, precluding the restaurant maximizing the profit.

On the other hand, who did the survey? One possible way is that waitresses randomly ask customers how they feel under this change. To avoid negative responses, it’s self-evident that they would choose customers enjoying the meal. What’s more, waitresses can be dishonest for there’s no any incentive for them to report the real situation to supervisors. It’s also possible that the supervisor submit the dishonest number to headquarter so as not to raise the attention of low efficiency. Even though the percentage is real, but what’s the total sample? If the responses collected are 50, then 1 person says she prefers butter to margarine, suggesting that 2 percent of customers have complained as well. However, as we known from the memo, we can infer that the pancake house is chain store. 50 samples aren’t a representative figure to prove the most of customers’ comments.

Finally, the manager recommends that all the restaurants located in the southeast and the northeast should adopt the new change in order to save cost. Did he make a survey in southeast and northeast? It’s possible that preferences vary dramatically in different regions. Even though those customers in southwestern can accept this change, it’s not necessary that customers in southeast and northeast can adapt to it. Once the customers choose other dessert restaurants instead of Happy Pancake house, the cost is not only the butter but some advertising strategies even discount. What’s worse, this surmise is assumed under the customers will be attracted owing to promotion.

To sum up, it stills more careful consideration before the manager decides to replace butter with margarine in the Southwestern as well as in the Northeast and the Southeast.