The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants."Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have compla

According to this memorandum, the author found the changing that butter replaced by margarine in the restaurants throughout the southwestern US did not bring about huge complaints by customers, thus he plans to keep on this change and extending to northeast of US as well. There are some loopholes in this statement, we should evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the reasoning that 2 percent of custmers' compaining means 98 percent of customers' agreements is problematic. There is a high possiblity that among the 98 percent of customers, most of them would not compain this change, instead they will go to another restaurant directly given there are so many restaurants available for them. Thus the customers are losing silently. The author should not ignore the power of silent majority, so he should make a deep survey to find out if they are really OK with this changing.

In addition, even if the servers' reporting that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain this changing, and they could not distinguish butter from margarine or the do not care about these two terms, we can not conclude this change is favorable and operative.Firstly, the number of customers we discussed above is opaque in ratio, we do not know they represent how many customers in percent to all the customers, maybe they just took a trivial part.Secondly, we do not know how many people who complain this change when they ask for butter instead, this number,especially ration in all the customer is more significant than the previous one.So the author should focus on the complaints from the restarants because they reflect real conditions in this change.Thirdly, on the other hand, as we learned at schools, if a person who can not tolerate diary-product in food. which mean allergic to them, the can detect whether this food contains diary. Thus if the butter replaced by margarine, some of the customers could find it. Thus this report from the servers does not support the author's conclusion.

Finally, it would be unpredictable even catastrophic if the manager replicate this change in northeast restaurants. We do not know the business environments and local markets which are different with the southeast of US. As we discussed, this change would not be favorable to the restaurants in southeast, let alone in other parts of US, which would be harder to predict. Maybe local people would not welcome this change with high possiblity.

In closing, I fully comprehend this manager who want to save the cost of operating restaurants. While his conslusion is not well supported by evidence. To support his idea, he should make more survey locally to find out whehter the customer like this change.