130. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author talks about the Happy Pancake House restaurant's decision to replace butter with margarine in the southwestern Unites States and the reaction people had to this change. Based on their reaction, the author suggests that the restaurant should replace butter with margarine throughout the country. However, this argument is not very persuasive as it is based on a lot of assumptions that are not clearly validated in the argument.

Firstly, the argument states that only 2 percent of the customers have filed a formal complaint against the replacement of butter. The author assumes that the rest 98 percent are happy with the change. This a flawed assumption as there might be customers that might have expressed their discontent in ways other than formal complaints. People might have directly told the waitor that they are not happy with the change or might have stopped coming to Happy Pancake House altogether. In any condition, recieving 2 percent formal complains does not indicate that rest 98 percent are happy.

Secondly, the author assumes that since people in southwestern United States did not have a problem with the change, people across United States will have the same reaction to the change. This again is a flawed assumption. There is a possibility that margarine might be locally accepted as a substitute of butter in southwestern United States as the public here is accustomed to it or margarine is already being used as ingrident on other staple food. This would change how people accross United States react to the change. Thus, this change might be happily accepted in some parts of the country and might be outrightly rejected in others.

Thirdly, the argument does not state the difference in the cost of butter and margarine. The argument assumes that margarine costs less than butter and the profit earned by replacing butter with margarine is large enough to let go of some of it's customers that are against this change. This is an assumption that needs through calculations of profit and loss margins in order to reach a conclusion.

In conclusion, the author has made many assumptions in the argument stated above. If the author provides more information on validating these assumptions then the argument will become more cogent.