33. As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human's knowledge of the world is different form the knowledge that other species have. We are concious being, not only are we able to perseive the environment around us but can also ask meaningful questions pertaining to the environment. This is what sets us apart form the rest of the life present on Earth. This curiosity about how things work is what has led humans to this path of development. Today, we know what are the laws that govern the motion of Earth and other astronomical bodies in space, why weather change, what cause calamities like floods, earthquakes and hurricanes, what causes deseases and may more. At first, all this may seem daunting, nut this actually makes our life easier. I do not agree with the author's claim that as we acquire more knowledge, things become more complex.

Over the years humans have managed to garner such a rich reverse of knowledge that it is impossible for one person to understand every aspect of it. A solution to a problem in one domain may seem to be more intricate and complex than the question itself to a layperson. However, experts of that field may explain the same solution as simple and elegant. For example, understanding the coming up with an experiment to test the laws of quantum physics may seem an impossible task for a person not having the required background knowledge. However, the job of an experimental physicist is to do the exact same task.

It is true, that as we acquire more knowledge we tend to ask more questions on how the newly acquired knowledge fits in our set of previously sustained knowledge. And many a time these questions seem to be more difficult to answer than the one earlier, and that is what creates this illusion of complesity and mysteriousness. However, the truth is that these seemingly difficult questions actually help us in understnding how nature works. For example, Newton raised the question on why apples fall towards earth which led to the development of the theory how gravity works. Today, our understanding of gravity has landed us on Moon and Mars.

Knowledge actually makes our life easier. It opens up new possibilities that we might not have known existed. For example, Einstein's theory of relativity may make inter-galactic travel possible one day. It has also raised our standard of living by providing better healthcare. The knowledge of bacterias and viruses has made it possible to eradicate deadly diseases like smallpox and polio. These are just a few of those innumeriable examples where knowledge has made our life simpler.

Thus, acquiring more knowledge does not make things more difficult. It might give an illusion of doing that but in reality knowledge actually makes our lives easier. It has librated us from the dergery of our daily life. Today, we can easily travel across continents with a day, we can stay connected to our friends and families no matter where we are, we have access to much better healthcare. All of this is possible only because of the knowledge we have collected over the centuries.