The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter

Gorman Instruments, a company that manufactures saxophones.

“On this year’s survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the

idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work

would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea

wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees

who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the

expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors

produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group

was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On

the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require

employees to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow

overtime only for urgent circumstances.”

The author suggests that the company should mandate the workers to finish their work in 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances however the author fails to make a cogent case. The suggestion is interesting but there are a few questions that are needed to be answered first in order before one can move forward with the proposal.

First, does more error corresponds to a higher error rate? The author assumes that since the employees working overtime have made more errors in the past, it implies that they are more prone to make an error. However, this assumption is flawed as the people working overtime will also be completing more work than other. More work may result in a greater number of errors however the rate of error for them might be the same or even lower than the employees working 40 hours a week. If working overtime does not have any effect on the error rate of the employees then the suggestion in the argument loses its weight.

Furthermore, the argument does not clearly mention what it considers to be overtime. Since the argument wants to make sure that the error introduced by employees is not affected by the number of hours taken to complete the work, the argument should only consider a person completing the given work in more than the time allotted to be overtime. If the argument also considers the employees taking extra work as overtime, then the comparison of two does not make much sense.

Finally, the author assumes that all the error documentation process is full proof. If this assumption is proven to be wrong, then the whole basis of the argument is flawed. There is a possibility that there are errors introduced by other employees that are missed. This would mean that the data itself on which the argument is based is not dependable and thus the argument is weakened.

Examining all the various angles and factors involved, the argument does not justify putting a restriction on the employees to complete their work in the assigned 40-hour work week. The reasoning relies on the data that isn't provided and correlations that may not necessarily exist. While the proposal does highlight a possibility, more information is needed to warrant any action.