86. The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that Delany Personnel Firm is better than Walsh Personnel Firm. To prove this point, the author provides us with a number of facts, however these facts are based on some faulty assumptions.

Firstly, the author compares the two firms based on their performances that are 8 years apart. In doing so, that author assumes that the market conditions have remain constant in the last 8 years, which might not be necessarily true. It is possible that the lower performance of Walsh can be attributed to a dearth of job opportunities at that time. In such a scenario, their performance results might not be an accurate estimate of how effective the firms is.

Secondly, the author assumes that a bigger staff and a large number of branch offices is an indication of superiority of Dalany's services. This again is a flawed assumption. There are numerious examples of companies in the market that operate at a small scale but are still known for the quality of product and services they deliver. Therefore, the size of the company cannot be used as a criteria to compare two companies.

Thirdly, the author also compares the average time taken by Dalany's and Walsh's clients to find a job last year. Since Delany's clients took less time to find a job, the author concludes that Delany's services are better. However, the author fails to give us any information about the sample of people on which these results are based. If there is a huge difference in the size of the sample, then these figures are not an actual representation of the effectiveness of the services provided by the company. Suppose, if the sample size for calculating this figures was 300 for Delany and 1000 for Walsh, then it makes sense for Walsh to have a greater average time.

Also, the author does not give us any information about what kind of jobs were people looking for in these samples. The availability of jobs vary a lot based on in which domain are you looking for a job. For example, the market is facing a paucity of data analysts and therefore a person looking for a job in this domain will get a job sooner than a person looking in some other domain. So, we need to make sure that we compare data that is gathered in the same domain.

In conclusion, the author fails to put forward a cogent and pursuasive argument as there are a lot of assumptions in his argument. If the author provides more details about these assumptions, the argument can hold a stronger ground.