72. The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A recent article from Elthyria maintains that workers who lost their jobs because of corporate downsizing face serious problems in finding another job. However another article claims that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated and two-thirds of these newly created jobs pay above average wages and a vast majority of these are full time jobs. The author makes an argument that the second article undermines the first. But we cannot conclude that unless we consider the following points.

Firstly, a different set of skills is required for different jobs. There is a possibility that these new jobs require a totally different kind of skill and therefore the people who lost their jobs because of downsizing are not able to make an instant switch to there jobs. And developing a new skill set takes time and effort. This is probably why it takes along time, often years, before people can find other suitable employment.

Another point that the author makes is that the unemployment rate in Elthyria is lowest in decades and two-third of these newly created jobs are in industries that tend to pay above-average wages and thus the competent workers who lost their jobs because of downsizing should not face economic hardships. This reasoning is however flawed as we do not know weather the industries facing downsizing and the one with new jobs are the same. Or how easily a switch between the two can be made.

An example of this is the downsizing faced by the oil and gas industry and the rapid increase in number of jobs in software industry. Although the overall number of jobs in the market increased, the people who lost their jobs because of downsizing faced serious economic hardship as a switch between the two industries is not easy. They require totally different skill sets. A person who has worked as a field engineer for an oil and gas company will have to make tremendous efforts in order to secure job in software industry.

Given all this, it can be concluded that we cannot say for sure that the second article mentioned in the argument undermines the first unless we have more information about the industries facing downsizing and creation of new jobs.