The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time. Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor of the national newspaper, author had questioned on the article of the newspaper that states that due to the corporate downsizing in elthyria majority of the workers who had lost there jobs are facing economic hardships for years till they find new job. Author states that the article is not correct by giving some figures which seems to be a assumption. As there are no evidence given to support the assumption that author had taken.

Firstly, the author states that the claim of the newspaper article are undermined by the report on Elthyria. Here the author had not stated whose report. Report can be from any one but that can not be considered true. He/She has not given any authorative source that can give report that can be considered true. Not all the report given by anybody can be considered legible. The author had completely failed in giving any sources of this economy report. So, it can not be considered a evidence.

Secondly, he/she says that more jobs are created than eliminated since 1999 which brought the unemployment rate to its lowest in decades in Elthyria. Here, again the author had not given any evidences relating to these points. Neither any numbers related to the employment rate is given nor any number of created or eliminated is given. It make us to believe that without any figures author is just assuming any thing to provide contradictory view of the article.

Moreover, author is stating that two-third of the newly created jobs have been in the industries which pay above average wages and most of the jobs are full time which is against the claim made in the newspaper article. There are no number provided by the author about how many newly created jobs. And what is the average salary that he/she is saying that these industries provide above average-wages in this jobs. And also, he/she states that vast majority of the jobs are full time. Again question arises how many? Thus, it can be conclude that author had provided facts without any evidence and so are not liable to be considered.

At the end, It can be inferred that the author is just trying to provide contradictory views against the newspaper article which are without proof and should not lead to considered legible. They should be rechecked with the facts which provide proof.