Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the given statement, the author argues that student should be made to study ideas, trends, concepts which help in understanding the fact before teaching the fact by the educators. Facts are generally made up of the trends, ideas and concepts but it is not true that for learning the facts, concepts and ideas related to it should be studied. Facts can be understood even without knowing the generalised concepts related to it. So, I completely disagree with the authors statement.

Most of times, it occurs that the behind a simple fact there is a lengthy and complex concepts. why should one study such a complex concepts for a fact? So, it is better that the student study the fact first and if require he/she should be taught the concept, ideas and the trends related to it. Studying the fact takes less time as well as can be understood quickly rather than the concepts which takes long time and may need someone to teach them. Studying fact helps in getting more knowledge in the same time than studying the ideas behind it.

Moreover, it happens that the fact is important for the student i.e. related to his/her branch of study but the concepts are far from the academic discipline of the student. So it can be argued that the what can the student will get by studying such concepts and trends? It will just be the wastage of the valuable time. So it is better to just go ahead with the facts. Sometime it is also possible that there is no idea, trend or concept behind some fact they are merely theoretical. So, the emphasize the author puts on fact is quiet hard.

In some facts, the concepts are from some other branch or of some other subject which student had never studied or even would not in future. So, studying such things is of no importance and would not give knowledge. Even teaching such concepts to the students will give nightmare to the educators. There will be just the wastage of knowledge of the educator as the students are need to taught from the start which they could not due to the time constraint. For example, the fact is that, the light propagates through a large distance if there is no hindrance. It is not necessary that student should be taught the whole theories related to light propagation just to teach this fact. It is better to understand only the fact.

However, in some cases there occurs a need to have the knowledge of concepts or trend to study the facts. In such cases the teachers should give equal importance to the fact as well as the concepts, ideas or facts behind that. For example, for studying the atmosphere of different planets one should study about thing related to universe or the places of planets in the solar system because there exist the need to understand the concept clearly before studying it.

So, it can be concluded that in some cases there is a need to study the concepts, ideas and trends related to the facts but it is not required every time. So it cannot be stated that the educators should teach concepts, trends and ideas before teaching the facts. It should be given up to the educators what to teach and when because it will differ in every fact whether concepts should be taught or not.