The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, It is said that the moped are the most popular mode of transportation in Balmer Island and during summer months the population increases which leads to more accidents. To reduce these the town council of Balmer Island should reduce the number of moped rented by the Island's moped rental companies. Also, it states that the accident would reduce by 50 percent by decreasing the renting of moped. There are many assumption that the author had taken while deriving the above conclusion which are without any proof or evidences.

Firstly, the author of this letter states that to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrian the renting of moped should be reduced. What is the premise for this assumption? How can one conclude that the accident occurs only due to the pedestrians and mopeds? Is there no other reason for accident? Also if the accidents are majorly from from moped and pedestrian than how can one deduce that the reason for this is only the moped riders may be the pedestrian are walking on the road alloted for moped. Also there may be the reason that the road are small so the people and moped riders have accidents. There must be the plenty of reasons that is leading to the accidents of people and moped riders. It cannot be concluded that reducing renting of moped will decrease in the accident.

Secondly, the author also states that if the number of the moped renting is limited than the accident will reduce to 50 percent. There arises a question, how can one deduce the number of accident will reduce to half. the author had not provided any evidences for deriving such number. Even the total number of accident happening at this time and what would be the situation after applying author's assumption is not given. The author had failed in giving the proofs for these things. He/she had not given any data that leads to any evidences that may prove his/ger point.

Thirdly, it is said that as the nearby Island town Seaville has applied same policy and got good result. Balmer should also apply. These itself makes no point. What is the proof that as seaville had achieved result Balmer will also achieve. There are plenty of reason like the roads as suggested before, the people needs of walking on road or the traffic regulation etc which makes this assumption nebulous.

At the end, it should be concluded that there is no meaning in doing the same as other town for reducing of accidents. The council of Balmer Islands should find reason's for the accident and try to rectify the problem that arises that only the accidents will reduce