We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the given statement, Author argues that we can learn much more from the people who has similar views like us than those who's view contradict with us. Here, the author makes a point that the person with the similar type of views like us is more easily understandable than the person who's view contradict with us but for learning some thing even the person with the opposite view is helpful. So, it can be said that the author view is biased towards the comfortable approach.

First of all, the view author gives is just about being comfortable with the views but it should be considered that the people with the opposite view also have some good discernment towards some point which can be helpful. It can not be concluded that the person having contradictory ideas will not have any thing to learn from. In fact, learning is done better done from the person having some ideas from other side as it can be helpful in analyzing the situation more properly and impartially.

Secondly, learning from the people having same idea would get cliched over time. These will hinder in the progress of the person as he/she will not get out of his thinking sphere. He/She will just get bound to the definite area or thinking zone but in today's life one should have more of knowledge than just of some way or some thinking which will be not possible by just having the people having some shared views rather someone having ideas and knowledge of the other side will be helpful in increasing our thinking process.

Moreover, to prove the above point lets take a example of a sportsperson. Most of the sportsman have different approach towards their particular game. For example, In tennis there are two great sportsman Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer, Both are excellant player in the game but one thing is contradictory between them that is Nadal is a left hander while Federer is a right hander. But, off field they are good friends and often says that they learn a lot from each other.

However, having the people of same view with us also had some advantage like a same view through out the project. Having such people around us helps in getting a congruent view towards a project and is helpful in getting some good result easily and in less time. Having some people with same views around us will increase pace but will not helpful in increasing the knowledge.

At the end, it can concluded that the people having condradictory views would benefit us in long time. As it increases our knowledge. So, the views of the author is quite bounded to a short time success which can hinder the long.