The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given argument, it is stated that the president of the grove college wants the college to abandon the tradition of all-female education and start coeducation like the other colleges. As the other colleges had experienced the increase in the application after they started coeducation. but the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. There are lots of assumption taken by the president as well as the director of the alumni association in proving their points which lacks the evidences.

Firstly, the president suggest that they should abandon the all-female education and start coeducation by admitting male students too. He/She argues that after adopting coeducation there would be significant increase in the application and enrollments of the students in groove college. As there has been the increase in application in the other colleges which had left all-female education and started coeducation. These does not makes a sense that as there is the increase in the enrollments in other college that would be repeated in Grove college too. Also, on what basis he/she is saying that there is increase in enrollment in other college which change their system. There are no evidence which can prove it.

Secondly, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan saying that the all-female education is the identity of the Grove college. Where is the evidence of the identity? What is the proof regarding that? It can be inferred that the identity may be due to some other reason or may be due to the quality of education or due to infrastucture of the college. He/She cites the annual survey of the incoming students in which this student had stated that the primary reason for the selecting the college is that Grove provides all-female education. These is the proof that the director gives regarding his point but how can this survey be considered a legible. He/She has also not cited any number of students who took part in the survey and how many students had favoured the all-female education. There is no evidences that supports the directors point.

thirdly, the director also point to the survey of alumnae of Grove which support all-female education but again there are no numbers given regarding how many alumnae responded to the survey and how many have supported the all-female education. So, here again he/she creates ambiguity regarding the surveys without showing any evidences.

finally, it can be concluded that both the president and director are explaining there plans without any proof or evidences creating ambiguos situation. So, before taking any step everything should be made clear regarding all the above mentioned points.