"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In these newsletter, The author concludes that more bicycle accident is occuring because bicyclist feel safer wearing the helmet and they risk their life resulting in accidents. Author also feels that government should concentrate on more educating of people about bicycle safety and less encouraging bicyclist to wear helmets to reduce the accidents. The points that author has taken into consideration are either without evidence or not derived from the proper premise. He/she had taken a lot of assumption in the data given in the newsletter.

First of all, the author has assumed that ten years ago the number of bicyclist wearing helmets were 35 percent approximately which has rose to 80 percent today. It is not given from where this assumption is taken or what are the numbers of the total bicyclist ten years ago and today. Is the total number of bicyclist has changed or remain same? Without total number how can it be inferred that the no of bicyclist wearing has increased. So these number about the increasing of the number of bicyclist wearing helmets could not be considered true.

Secondly, author has also stated that the number of bicyclist related accident has increased by over 200 percent but he/she had not given about the percent of bicyclist accident ten years ago. Also the author has not given about the total number from which the number of bicyclist accident is deduced.It seems that the author is giving figure just by assuming.

Finally, the author wants the government should concentrate on less encouraging the use of helmets considering that the riders feel safer after wearing helmets which leads to more accidents. I think that it may be true that the bicyclist feel safer by wearing helmets but that doesn't mean that they go on to drive in improper way leading to more accident. Less encouraging of wearing helmets may lead to the more number of accidents.

Thus, it can be concluded that the author has not taken assumption based on evidences while considering the data in the mention paragraph in the health newsletter. So, the data mentioned here is irrelevant and should be rechecked before considering.