Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In the given statement, author states that efforts should only be made to save those endangered species which may go extinct in future due to the result of human activities. The statement is not valid as efforts should be made to save all endangered species rather than just some species which are going to extinct in near future that too due to the result of human activities. One should completely disagree with the author as this is a biased view towards the natural resources.

First of all, the main reason of going against the statement is that all the species are useful and helpful in some or the other way than why efforts should be made just to save some endangered species whose potential extinction may happen due to human activities. It should be the responsibility to save every species that are endangered and going to extinct in near future. The benefits that we get from the species are enjoyed without discrimination than why should efforts to save them should be divided.

Secondly, every species is of use to society in some or other way. These species help in the growth of the society and its prosperity. And there extinction may be due to different reasons like human activities, natural calamities, environmental change etc. The endangered species like some flora and fauna may go extinct due to the forest fire or flood or cyclone like calamities that are not caused by society but that does not mean that society should not do any thing to save them if they are not under the list of species that have the danger of potential extinction.

Moreover, if the species that are endangered but not under potential extinction are not saved than they may lead these species to potential extinction not by the result of human activities but the efforts are needed to save them. As these species will be helpful to us in near future. So, despite of potential extinction not due to human activities they should be saved by the society.

However, most of the endangered species goes to extinction are due to human activities only. be it mangrooves on the coastal region that is endangered due to the rapid industrial activities or be it some animals that are going to extinct due to the human activities in the jungle. The main reason of any species to go endangered and then extinct will always be human and their greed.

In conclusion, it should be added that mainly the reason of the potential extinction of species are human activities but there are also other reason which leads them to extinction and efforts should be made by society to save them at any cost.