6. A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Children are the future of our race. Providing them with the right education and getting them prepared to handle the problems of future is an important task. I agree with the author's suggestion that all the students of a nation should study the same curriculum until they enter college however I think there are some negative aspects of this decision that should be considered before making a decision.

Having the same curriculum will make education equal for everyone. For example, a rich student studying in a big private school will attain the same knowledge as a student studying in a small village school. This will ensure equal opportunities for all, irrespective of the fact that the student belongs to a metropolitian city or a small village. This will also loosen some pressure on the middle class parents who feel that in order to get a good education their kinds should be enrolled in a famous private school. And while doing that, spend their whole savings in paying costly school fees.

It will also make the task for selecting students for college easier. The college administration has to select students based on their academic performance. A varied curriculum across different regions makes this task difficult as some curriculum are considered to be more difficult than others. If all the students study the same curriculum and the marking is done on the same scheme, then this task becomes a lot more easier.

However, keeping the same curriculum for every student has some negative effects as well. This takes away form students the choice to study the subjects of the fields they want to pursue in future. For example, a student who wants to go for engineering will want to focus more on Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics, however a student going for medical college would want to focus on Physic, Chemistry and Biology. Keeping the same curriculum would mean students are studying more subjects than they need to in order to ensure that everyone gets to study the subject of their choice or we would need to keep out a few subjects to ensure students are not over-burdened by the sheer amount of study.

Having stated all the above, I believe that all the students of a nation should study the same curriculum till they enter college. However, there should be a choice of additional subjects that the students can choose from so that they do not loose their freedom of choice.