25. Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is important in today's world. Today, the development of a nation is measured by its advancements in science and technology. Such advancements are only possible if the people of the nation have access to higher education. Thus, it becomes the duty of the government to ensure that college and university education is accessible to all the people of the nation. However, I do not completely agree with the statement that college and university education should be offered free of charge to all students.

Firstly, offering university education free of charge will not necessarily result in 100% literacy, as was evident from a similar scheme for primary education in India. The government of India offers primary education free of cost however the scheme did not attract as many students as were expected. To attract more students to the school, the government also started mid-day meal plans, where the students were provided meals in the schools. Even after this, the government is still trying to get more students to schools. The reason for this is that people do not understand the value of education. The government should first focus on spreading awareness about the benefits of education.

Secondly, government funding is limited. And in a country like India, where a large section of the population is below the poverty line, this funding could be used in many other ways. There are many people in this country who do not have access to basic necessities of life. People who have to walk for miles to get water for their daily needs, those who do not have the facilities of toilets in their homes, those who still work under the light of an oil lamp because they do not have access to electricity. Even if the college education is made free of charge, their people will not want to go for it. The government need to focus to uplift these sections of society first.

Having stated all that, I agree that there are many people who will be benefited from such a scheme but there are other ways to help a person who wants to pursue his/her college education. The government can provide scholarships for students who are in need of financial assistance and a will to pursue higher studies.

In conclusion, I would say it is quixotic to say that government should offer college education free of charge to all students. I would rather agree on that it should be provided free of cost for people who want to pursue higher studies but are unable to bear the financial cost as the government do not have unlimited funds.