The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager claims that Happy Pancake House should replace butter with margarine in its restaurants in northeast and southeast as a cost-saving measure to avoid the expense of butter and to increase the profitability. He presents evidence to support his claim but upon careful inspection, they provide little credible support. Therefore, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated and flawed.

First of all, the argument assumes that the customers are happy with the replacement of butter by margarine, but fails to provide proper evidence to support this position. For instance, the customers might not have felt the need to complain and those complaints might have gone unheard. Further, it can be implied that a lot of customers ask for butter but do not complain when they are given margarine instead. So, it could be the case that the customers are not satisfied and might stop coming to the Happy Pancake House restaurants in the future. This could cause defamation to the brand name as a whole and this is in contrary to the manager's intention. Therefore, the argument would be more convincing if it could prove that whether acting on this assumption would not produce adverse results.

Additionally, the manager's claim that customers are not able to distinguish between butter and margarine in the southwestern United States and therefore, this will be the pattern for customers' acceptance in the rest of the localities. In its current form, the manager's assumption has several possibilities to fail that includes several scenarios in which customers are able to distinguish between butter and margarine. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it shed more light upon the customer's actual acceptance of margarine as a replacement for butter.

However, the manager might not necessarily be wrong to state that only two percent of the customers have complained about the replacement of butter with margarine, if he could provide more evidence such as a feedback from the customers about their satisfaction, it would help to better understand the problem in hand.