Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

It is generally believed that family and friends play a vital role in providing life lessons and values. Indisputably, this is true because they are the people who share the joys and sorrows of our life. Nevertheless, our personal experiences also provide everlasting and profound life lessons. This is because one will never forget the lessons that experience has taught.

Let us begin by looking at the various benefits provided by life-lessons taught by family and friends. One main benefit is that one need not face adverse consequences or end up in big trouble as a consequence of experimenting with an unknown situation. Friends and family members will advise on how to handle a tough situation based on their own life experience in the past. In this circumstance, it would be beneficial to us as we might avoid making a decision that might result in an adverse situation. Moreover, friends and family share our sorrows and joys. Therefore, they would definitely feel responsible for our success and guide us in the right direction.

However, personal experiences provide us everlasting and profound life lessons that we can never forget. For example, during my childhood, my parents gave me an expensive pen. I was so excited to take it to school and show it to my friends. Despite the warning my parents gave me on losing it, I was determined to carry it with me to school. Consequently, I somehow lost the pen by the end of the day. I cried a lot for the next few days but learnt a life lesson that I must be careful with my things. This instilled a habit in me that I must be very careful, attentive and not lose things. I have been following this lesson till date and I feel that I can never forget the experience that triggered me to change. Thus, life experience provides everlasting experience.

Further, advises of all family and friends might not be applicable to our lives. We might not face similar situations where their life lessons can be applied. Also, certain difficult situations might not have the same adverse effects that our family or friends faced. For instance, a friend of mine adviced me to never eat icecream in a shop nearby my house as she had vommitted the day after eating there. While this was not the case for me as I have had icecream in the shop several times and I did not vomit. Therefore, sometimes advice from others could fail despite their harmless intentions.

In conclusion, I prefer to follow my life based on my own personal experiences. I chose to follow this way of life because personal experience provides advice that I can never forget throughout my life. In addition, advice from family and friends might not be suitable for our situation or might have different results in our lives.