An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that the government of Tagus must promote a new type of millet in order to combat vitamin A deficiency. He considers the fact that vitamin A deficiency is prevalent among the people of Tagus and proposes a possible solution that includes planting a new variety of millet that is rich in vitamin A. However, upon careful inspection, it can be observed that the provided evidence gives little credible support to the author's conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated and flawed.

First of all, the author assumes that this new variety of millet would combat the vitamin A deficiency, but does not provide proper evidence that supports this position. In the first place, he does not explain the intensity of this deficiency among the people of Tagus. For instance, any information that shows more statistics on the existence of vitamin A deficiency such as a detailed survey or medical examination would give a clear picture of whether a measure to combat vitamin A deficiency is required. Further, he has mentioned that this new variety of millet is the only possible solution to combat this deficiency. In this case, there could be several other factors considered to solve this issue. Therefore, the argument would have been more convincing if it could shed more light on this information.

Additionally, the author mentions that this variety of millet is expensive than the existing staple and farmers will be paid subsidies for planting this type of seeds. In its current form, the people of Tagus are already consuming millet as a staple and this new variety of staple would cost more. In the impoverished nation, people might prefer to use millets that cost them less.

However, the author might not necessarily be wrong to assert that this new type of millet would help in combating vitamin A deficiency, it would be better if he could provide strong evidence on whether this would be accepted well among the people of Tagus, then it would lead to a better understanding of the problem at hand. In conclusion, the author's claim is unpersuasive as it stands.