Do you agree or disagree? technology has made children more creative than they were before.

The debate on whether technology is advancing or suppresing creativity in children has been going on for decades. Some people argue that technology is essential for accomplishing any task in today's world. It might be true because without technology, it would take a lifetime to travel to far away places, impossible to make long distance communications and the list keeps growing. However, in my opinion, I agree with the statement that the creativity among children is diminishing because of technology usage. I feel this way because technology corrodes a child's brain, it increases the child's dependency on them and hinders even basic thinking ability leave alone imagination.

First of all, technology corrodes a child's brain and makes the mind less sharp. While this is true especially in the case of children, it cannot be overlooked in adults either. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the prevailing children attitude these days. They are introduced to smart devices very early in life that they keep staring at it for the whole day. When I was young, my mother used to read books, sing rhymes and play with me to keep me entertained. However, children these days depend on their smart devices for all of these or more. They lose their thinking ability unknowingly as they are too involved in the device.

As a result of corroded brain and diminished thinking ability, children become more dependent on technology to do their quotidian tasks. For instance, my neighbor's son was given a smart phone everyday for viewing educational videos in the youtube application. Consequently, he stopped focussing in the class during school hours. This was because he became complacent that he could learn anything at the time he wants to at home using a smart phone. In this circumstance, what would happen if my neighbors stopped giving him the smart phone? He would definitely deteriorate in his grades.

In other similar situations, this would eventually hinder the basic thinking capacity of children. To consider one case, children would depend on technology such as calculator for performing basic arithmetic calculations. I would like to recall an instance in my past where I went to a restaurant for dinner and the cashier was a young adult. He used the calculator to calculate a basic sum that would not even take seconds to compute in mind. Therefore, it is evident that technology does hinder even the basic thinking capacity.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that children are becoming less creative due to the over usage of technology. Technology corrodes a child's brain, increases dependency and eventually deteriorates the basic thinking ability.