Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the decline in deer population is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. He presents evidence to support his claim including a report from local hunters on the decline in deer populations and another report on the prevailing global warming trends. However, upon careful examination, we can observe that the evidence provides little credible support to the author's conclusion.

First of all, the author claims that there is a reduction in deer population, but provides very little evidence to assert this position. If this is the case, the reduction in deer population has been reported only by the local hunters. However, the reliability of this information is unsubstantiated and could lead to ambiguity if it is not supported by significant data that really reflects the decline in deer populations. Therefore, The author has to provide strong evidence on the actual population decline to support his stance.

Additionally, the author assumes that the decline in deer population is caused by the deer's disability to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea, but it does not provide proper evidence to support this position. There could be several other factors that are causing a decline in the deer population. For instance, it could be caused by hunters who do not belong to the locality. Also, it could have been caused by an imbalance in the habitat required for the deer to survive. Hence, the argument would be more convincing if it could shed more light upon what is the exact factor that caused the reduction in deer population.

However, the author might not necessarily be wrong to assert that global warming could be a significant cause for the decline in deer populations, if he could provide more statistics on the effects of global warming on Canada's arctic regions, it would lead to a better understanding of the problem at hand.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To support the author's claim, he should provide strong supporting evidence, perhaps a reliable survey on the deer population and a detailed analysis of the reasons contributing to the decline.