Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument put forward by the author stating that the decline in deer population can be attributed to the unfreezing of water between the islands of Canadian Arctic region due to global warming is flawed. Not considering other reasons for the decline, relying on ambiguous reports and failing to consider that positive effects of global warming that might be beneficial for the deer population makes the author’s argument fallacious.

In the contention presented by the author, it is noted that the frozen water on which the deer travel to go to other islands remains in such state for only some part of the year. Hence, it might not be the only factor if it were to be believed that the deer population is declining, to cause their numbers to dwindle. There are other factors as well to account for this decline like competition for resources, extremely harsh climatic conditions, human interference, and an increase in the number of predators. If the author would have mentioned in his or her argument that the waters stayed frozen throughout the year then its importance as a contributing factor to the decline in deer population would have been enhanced.

Also, the “reports” mentioned by the author seems a little vague. Since we are told that Canada’s Arctic region is an archipelago, it is not specifically mentioned as to in which island the decline was noted. The local hunters would have noticed a decline in one or maybe a few islands but that does not justifiably conclude that the population of deer has declined in entire Canada’s Arctic region. Had the author been more specific in his argument in saying the hunters from all islands reported the decline in deer population, then that would have earned the author some credence.

Even if it is accepted that due to global warming the deer are not able to cross the islands due to their inability to cross the frozen water connecting the islands, that does not necessarily mean that their population would decline. If they become confined to certain islands then that would explain their underreporting by the hunters who might be hunting in other areas. Also, global warming might actually be beneficial for the deer since the very reason they traveled to various islands was to find unfrozen food. Global warming would now not only unfreeze the water between the islands but also the frozen vegetation. Vegetation would grow easily since harsh and cold weather conditions might not prevail. Hence this severely undermines the author’s argument since global warming might not decrease but rather increase their population. The author could have looked into the aforementioned possibilities before stating his or her contention.

The abovementioned fallacies need to be paid attention to by the author before reaching any conclusion.