Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Traditionally, a hero or a role model is a person who protects and safeguards his people from any dangers, ensures harmony among them and is among one of them. However, today with globalization, there has been a slight change in this prevailing definition of a hero. A person can become a hero in a foreign land and can also be a hero for a population not constituted only by the people who share the same nationality as his. Since such incidences have been on the rise in recent years, it is indeed true that such a role-model cannot represent the characteristics of the society.

Societies, especially in metropolitan areas, are heterogeneous with people pouring in such areas from different parts of the world for a plethora of reasons like better job opportunities, enhancing the way of living and many more. A hero in such a place cannot truly represent each person constituting the society. Leaders or heroes might be chosen among the natives living in such a region, however, to prevent dissonance in the society, he has to act in a way that is beneficial for everyone. Hence, his way of dealing with people, making decisions, and taking actions will not represent the native characteristics of the society. If, for instance, animal sacrifices were a well-known tradition of the natives of that place, but due to vehement protests by the non-natives against it, a president, who is no less than a hero, would have to proscribe such practices to ensure peace in the society. Hence, when it comes to a society that represents an amalgam of various different cultures, a hero is bound to act in a way that does not only meet the interests of his own people.

In many cases, a leader or a hero who leads a society is not a native. Such was the case when Barrack Obama became the 44th president of the United States. There have been many people who have become effective leaders without being among the natives whom they lead. For becoming a hero, to be a native is not the sine qua none. Such people succeed by introducing new ways and techniques of solving a problem that would have worked in their own native place. Obama’s did make some of the biggest efforts in dealing with poverty, spending money on research, curbing the taxes, and achieving many other Herculean feats which his native predecessors could not attain. Every day we see flocks of people leaving their native land and becoming effective leaders in a region foreign to them. The Google CEO, Sundar Pichai, who works in the United States, is an India, nevertheless, he has been effective in dealing with people in a foreign land, be a discerning leader and most importantly, be a global hero for many people. Hence, in cases where the leaders are not natives, which have been on the rise since globalization, they cannot represent the peculiarities and characteristics of the society.

However, there have been role-models like Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi who challenged the prevailing conditions in their native countries and ended up be titled as freedom fighters. These leaders did exude patriotism and felt proud in showing off their society’s values and traditions which acted as a very puissant weapon in their respective struggles. Also, people generally feel more comfortable when led by a native due to the belief that such a person would understand their struggles.

Nonetheless, as the ideologies of people are changing by mingling with people from new places, tolerance and flexibility are making a place in their hearts and hence the conventional definition of a leader as a person among the natives who fight for their best interest is changing for the better.