As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge in any area of study cannot be acquired entirely and there is always room for wonder and mystery. Exploring these obscurities is what makes a person sagacious and estimable. Indeed, knowledge nurtures a person in becoming more adroit and prudent and not a baffled being.

The most fundamental question that strikes a person while questioning the worth of being getting inundated by knowledge is that if it were to bewilder a person then why its importance is still overstated. This overemphasis of digging deep into a subject and exploring its nuances and intricacies has been in vogue since the antediluvian times. As a result, we have benefitted from it immensely. With the lack of advanced technologies and little knowledge in science, scientists worked arduously to make remarkable discoveries. Had Einstein gotten confused in his endeavor of unraveling the laws of physics that govern the Earth, then our understanding in this area would have been incomplete. Hence, if we want to follow the path of such venerable luminaries and give rise to ground-breaking innovations, a more profound knowledge of the subject is of utmost importance.

In every educational institution in the world, an option of higher education is offered to all the students. The people who pursue such learning are guided by mentors who have explored that particular area of knowledge even more deeply. These erudite mentors and their students flood the world with innovations. The Massachusetts Institute of Technology can be used as one of the examples. From discovering Magnetic Resonance Imaging, which is become quite popular today, to conducting novel and latest researches like quantum computing, surely people working there are not confused. Putting such revolutionary ideas into play requires a glut of knowledge and skill, and it has indeed paid off. Therefore, placing a limit on the amount of knowledge a person can attain is like going against the norms of those above-mentioned highly esteemed institutions.

However, there are certain things that have baffled people and the superfluous usage of the word “why” has sometimes led to more intrigue than a better understanding. One of the best examples is questioning the existence of God. No matter how much we delve deep into the religious books, pray, or learn, the question of His existence is always debatable. Even in the world of humanities, understanding a historically significant person by gleaning on bits of information from the past sometimes gives rise to bafflement and frustration. This bafflement is also true in the world of science where certain previously established theories and principles are frequently repudiated after getting to know a subject even more profoundly and this gives rise to nonplussed scientists.

Nevertheless, a person should never stop seeking knowledge or put a limit to the quantity that can be safely imbibed since it is something unquantifiable and endless. Knowledge is what has pushed us from a good yet ignorant past to a better future.