In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Any field of study or work comprises of a dichotomy of workers namely, the experts and the beginners. Both classes of workers differ significantly from each other, in terms of experience, knowledge, and the most fundamental of them all is in being curious. It is beyond doubt that for making praiseworthy and significant contributions in any area if study, curiosity is the fundamental driving force. A neophyte’s propensity towards such a force places him at a much better position in making such important offerings in the field he renders his services.

It is a human tendency to show a copious amount of interest in a new activity that poses novel challenges till a person becomes an expert in it. The intransigent will to know even the most obscure details of the new work is the step an amateur takes to propel himself into a position of being an expert. Such a passion to learn and experiment wanes once a person imbibes most of the knowledge in a particular area of work. It is because of the propensity of humans to become bored of doing the same activity repeatedly that various organizations have to come up with a plethora of reforms and mutable plans for work to keep the workforce engaged and ensure that they work with alacrity. However, they do not guarantee to instill the workforce with the same enthusiasm they once showed when they first encountered the work. Hence, beginners tend to show more willingness to learn and work assiduously as compared to experts.

When it comes to making revolutionary contributions, the uninitiated are on par with the experts and sometimes even surpass them. When an individual enters a new area of work, an organization not only welcomes the person but also the innovative ideas and strategies that accompany him. They bring in a new way of thinking, much different from the banal approaches used by the professionals working in a particular area. This is the reason why most influential companies not only take the opinions of the experts but also consider the points made by the beginners in the hope of being exposed to a new approach of doing something or a remedy for an existing problem in the organization. Hence tyros are a source of new ideas.

It does not go without saying that experts are called so because of a reason. Being equipped with the experience and sufficient knowledge in their area of expertise, they are well aware of the projects that would give would be futile and unnecessary, and this is the point where they have an edge over the neophytes. A beginner, out of mere curiosity, can waste resources in pursuing dead-end goals and fail badly in the end. It is also possible that sometimes, the new area of work may seem so arcane and abstruse to the amateurs that instead of becoming encouraged and motivated by facing new challenges, they lose confidence and even become feckless.

Nevertheless, most people take new things as a challenge to be in a better place tomorrow. Making mistakes is a part of learning something new and it is these errors that guard a person later and prevents him from committing the same mistakes in the future as an expert. Hence, ingenious contributions are made by those who are willing to learn and imbibe the most about a new subject: they are the beginners.