In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress does not come easily. It comes only when we solve problems and make mind-boggling discoveries. While trying to achieve the goals mentioned above, there are always hurdles, heated arguments, and discussions before we reap its benefits. It can be believed with certitude that the only way to make a move towards progress is by getting involved in discussions where people contribute their different point of views.

When it comes to solving problems, be it at the level of an obscure corporation or the national or international level, opinions that vary and encompass a wide range of issues while dealing with a problem are essential. These opinions may not always be in harmony and could also give rise to debates, but the outcome is still worthwhile. For instance, a president is accompanied by many people who would help him in decision-making and solve highly complicated issues. Issues like intolerance against Blacks or white supremacy that usually flood the newspapers of America on a regular basis, need to be analyzed deliberately and circumspectly. Hence, the president’s advisers, in their effort to find the most efficient solution to such problems need to present their divergent views so that the point offered by each adviser is studied well and taken care of. Therefore, problem-solving becomes highly efficient when a situation is analyzed from different perspectives.

Not only do such discussions solve convoluted problems, but also give way to new ideas. In any field of study, exchange of ideas occurs only when people keep their views forward. Even though the views might be contrasting and utterly antithetical to each other, they later get molded and informed by the ideas shared in such a conversation. A science student might believe that his way of approaching a problem might be the most efficient and resource-efficient way, however when his views clash with another student who objects to the approach’s efficacy, then that would certainly enhance the understanding of both students and compel them to get more profound knowledge in the subject. This, in turn, would give rise to ground-breaking innovations. So, by interchanging divergent ideas and thoughts, we unleash our potential of making discoveries, and also towards enhancing and deepening our knowledge.

Nonetheless, accepting and reworking on our ideas after facing opposition is not a trivial task. Here, we see people become chafed, cantankerous, and even morose. In such situations, creativity is lost, and while some people like to stay obstinate when it comes to promoting their views, others can become depressed and dolorous. At such a point, neither enthralling discoveries are made, nor problems are solved, but rather everything assumes a static state.

Nevertheless, since we humans are brainy enough to know the long-term consequences of our obdurateness and sadness, these emotions should not become impediments in our progress. If a discussion involving antithetical argument spurs our creativity and enhances problem-solving, then it can be said with certitude that its pros have outweighed the cons.