The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When we talk about the luxuries and comforts, which we have been blessed with in today and which our precedents could not enjoy, the first thing that strikes us is technology. Technology then and now are worlds apart. This has changed the lifestyle of people, introducing new benefits while at the same time throwing in more risks. Indeed, the comforts available to our generation have deprived us of being more independent and confident in ourselves.

It is beyond doubt that the use of technology is ubiquitous these days. People are using digital planners to organize events, setting reminders on their gadgets so that they are not forgetful, and even relying on technology to make decisions. Not only is this making people less efficient, but also making them more dependent on such technologies. These days the ‘smart’ devices are in vogue: ‘smart’ in the sense that they make the use of advanced and highly efficient machine learning algorithms to make the life of the person who uses it easier. Such a person can get suggestions from such devices in terms of what to eat, wear, what music to listen and a plethora of other things. Personal judgment has been pushed to the back of the mind by people using such technologies these days. Not relying on oneself even though the much sane inner voice forbids them from wearing a tawdry dress suggested by these intelligent devices is just one of the many ways we are assuming subservient roles in front of technology these days. Hence, we have compromised out self-reliance for technology.

Social media, which is so pervasive nowadays, is also a slow poison. While people love interacting with people across the globe in the luxury of their own homes, in real life they lose touch with reality and become more aloof. Such people become self-conscious and quail at meeting people face to face. Reports surface every day highlighting the high percentage of children losing their self-esteem and confidence due to this. Looking at people on social media sites with nearly perfect lives make people insecure. Not only social media, but a large number of online transactions taking place these days put the customer and his personal information at a very high risk of getting leaked. Frauds are reported every day by people suing fake companies online for swindling their money. Therefore, instead of making our lives easier, contemporary advancements are making us indulge in self-doubt, self-loathing and wary about our actions in the fear of being hoodwinked.

It does not go without saying that even though the luxuries have their share of disadvantages, they are so because of a reason. They have brought people closer, helped loved ones stay in touch, and have made it easy to provide help in exigent situations. Also, there are people who are able to organize their lives better using technology and have become more disciplined beings.

Nonetheless, luxuries and comforts today in terms of technology are riddled with more disadvantages than advantages. Humans being lazy by nature are fuelling this inborn trait even more by using them at the expense of their own good.