Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The importance of education cannot be overstated. It is something whose worth is immeasurable. Indeed, everyone would want to attain this invincible power of knowledge from education and this is the reason why colleges and universities are for. However, since everyone is not able to afford an education, would that be a valid and sufficient reason to spur the government to make education free for all disregarding the negative effects involved in doing so? The most reasonable answer would be no. While the government should provide free education to the indigent who cannot afford to study in a college and are brilliant, it should not bear the burden of ensuring free education to all the students.

The government is never going to generate its own money and be generous enough to contribute it towards free education for all. The source of income for the government is its people, the major one being taxes. By granting free education to the denizens, the government would have to levy high taxes on the people. As a corollary, if a person is not able to avail himself or herself healthcare and is not fit enough, then the question of getting free education does not even arise. This would have a counterproductive effect on the country as a whole. Hence, free education is not going to benefit the individuals.

A college or an educational institution is well-known only by its quality of education. This fact is compromised the most when students are not charged any fee. Since the government cannot supply an unlimited amount of money and has to take care of other areas as well like military, healthcare and many more, an institution suffers from a dearth of resources including excellent teachers and lab facilities to name a few, due to limited financial investment by the government. Such an institution would not be worth imbibing knowledge from. Take for an impecunious student goes to such a college with a future of becoming the next most brilliant scientist in the world and thinks that there are no financial barriers now that can stop him from attaining education and achieving his goal. Ambitious students like these would be very disappointed if a college would not be able to meet their expectations due to the facile knowledge it is equipping its students with. Students, who would be richer, would go to expensive private colleges and get a better education. This would create the most abominable rift between the rich and the poor. Hence, free education is going to divide people in terms of knowledge and skill.

That is not to say that free education has no benefits at all. Even if the quality of education is sub-standard, still the people are getting the education which they couldn’t even afford. If all the citizens of a country are literate, then it is going to be a big economic boost for the country. Also, in a few instances, this could also act as a bridge between people especially the rich and the poor if they would be getting free education from the same institution.

However, it does not go without saying that an educational institution that would not be able to give a standard education and to ensure whose running the government would have to levy heavy taxes on the citizens of the country, such an education would not be worth having. Therefore, governments should offer free education only to those who are not only indigent but also ingenious and should not offer free education to all.