The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The contention put forward by the Board of Directors of Monarch Books in their effort to justify the opening of a café in Monarch Books is rife with errors. The directors have failed to consider whether opening a café would really cause a surge in the number of customers if a café was already present near the bookstore, have failed to rely on a more accurate and an unambiguous survey, and have wrongly assumed Regal Books and Monarch Books as equivalent.

The Board of Directors of the Monarch Books seem to be under the tacit assumption that opening a café would attract more customers, which is flawed. There is no reason given in the argument to explain why opening a café would increase the number of customers in the bookstore. Even if it is assumed that doing so would increase the customer base, still the contention discounts the possibility of an even better café present nearby which could take away the potential customers of Monarch Books. Had the directors stated in their argument that there are no nearby café, then the argument would have earned more credence.

The “recent national consensus” mentioned by the directors in their contention to bolster their argument of discontinuing under-10 age group children’s books appears vague. We are not told when such survey was carried out, what the sample size was, and whether it could veraciously account for the population of children under the age of 10 in the neighborhood or region near Monarch Books. It could be possible that the population of this particular category of children was much higher near the Monarch Books bookstore and was an outlier in the survey data and hence was not included. If the aforementioned point has some veracity, then it might also be true that major part of the revenue which the bookstore made actually comes from the books designed for the children under the age of 10. The directors should have relied on a survey pertaining to the area near Monarch Books bookstore than simply trusting a vague national consensus to make their argument more compelling.

Assuming that Regal Books is the same as Monarch Books is also fallacious. Regal Books could be completely different from Monarch Books. The former could be making more revenue than the latter or could be having more space to open up a café. Clearly, this is not the case with Monarch Books which neither has space nor would be making adequate revenue due to shutting down of one of the children’s books section. Also, in the argument, it is not mentioned if Regal Books was able to entice more customers by opening a café. Hence, their motive for opening a café could be completely different from that of Monarch Books. If there would have been a considerable amount of similarity between the two bookstores, then the directors could have made a point.

Considering the above-mentioned errors in the argument of the Board of Directors, it cannot be readily accepted and behooves them to do a more thorough analysis before reaching a conclusion.