The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

Book stores are a perfect place for introverts, bibliophiles and knowledge devouring people.

Parley of book collections becomes a crucial factor in determining the success of such a store.

In the preceeding letter to the business manager of the Monarch Books, the author recommends

opening an in-store cafe, supplanting the children's section of the store. Though the argument

may have merit, it relies on questionable premises and assumptions, lacking proper evidentiary

support for the claims made therein. Based on the documentation provided, the thesis seems invalid.

The author's argument is based on unfounded assumptions without proper warrants. His suggestion to

cut competition from the nearby bookstore Book and Bean by opening a cafe has been derived from the

fact that they did so. Their performance goes completely unmentioned. If in-store cafe going in substantial

losses is not uncommon, this is a poor recommendation. The urgent needs for the Monarch stores to

make sudden changes is also unclear. Store seems to have a good brand name, a reader-friendly atmosphere

and a wide collection of books. Furthermore, exchanging the children's section of the store is

limiting the eclectic collection of the store, which seems to be unpromising. The children section

having undergoing significant losses might call for further actions, but such an indiciation is

absent in the argument. Moreover, the establishment cost of the cafe, and the recurring cost has not

been mentioned as well. The profit statement of the cafe versus that of the children section needs to

be compared before making any decision. Also, the financial status of the bookstore needs to be

verified before opening up a new venture. It would be economic harakiri if the store decides to go

for the cafe plan and is already caught in a large debt, or is making significant losses off lately.

As a support, the speaker talks of the recent national consensus which suggested the decline in the

younger strata of the population. Proper quantification is needed before drawing any inferences out

of this statistical study. Not only that, but, this is in no way implies that the population local

to the bookstore or the reading circle shows the same trend.

Establishing the cafe might pose a few problems for the Monarch bookstore. The neighboring bookstore

already has one cafe. Imitating this idea has implementational issues as well as other ramifications.

It will take some time for this new business to settle. More importantly, it will indicate an imitation of

the nearby store which might have a dampening effect on the image of the Monarch bookstore.

In sum, the speaker's illogical stance on the issue is unlikely to draw large attention. In order to

reinforce the claim, he must explicate the underlying assumptions, provide substantiary evidence,

fix logical flaws in the argument and then, draw a coherent implication. Without these remedies, the

above surmise is likely to convince few people.