Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.Write a response in which you di

Ergonomics or study of people's efficiency in their work environment has been a field of interest in the recent times. One of the many strategies that companies can employ to boost productivity by reducing wastage of resources is monitoring the employee e-mail correspondence. The management also believes that keeping check of the employees e-mail records will also protect the company from lawsuits. Although these claims may have some merit, I believe that the disadvantages of such an action outweigh the possible benefits.

The primary issue with such a policy is the bondage it inherently creates. Not only does the concept of privacy go away instantaneously on the mail network, but more significantly it creates an aura of restricted workmanship; that of a censored society. Productive employees might be sharing their kids pictures or house renovation techniques while working on a project side by side, without lowering their throughput. Having a light banter with a colleague on an e-mail thread can be quite relaxing; releasing undue pressure from the tiring day. From a holistic perspective, all these tiny details contribute positively to the growth of the company, giving freedom to their workforce by maintaining their mental sanity in the huge pile of their allotted work.

Furthermore, the premise of e-mail being a major culprit in wasting company resources is unfounded. Most office spaces provide facilities for pass-time activities to their employees: ping-pong tables, foosball rooms, massaging centers, gymnasium and an indefinite time for toying with the coffee machines. It is my personal experience that a lot of the time squandered during the day is in some of these activities. A person brewing coffee at the office aisle meets another guy, chats for fifteen minutes, then plays table sport for half an hour and then dines in for another hour at the cafeteria. Thus, monitoring e-mail is not going to be sufficient to curb the wastage of time and office resources by the employees.

Although monitoring the office mails might not play a crucial role in resource management, it is not to say that it shall be totally ineffective. Creating an online environment sensitive to the type of information being circulated shall prove really effective to circumscribe any unlawful or unethical means of communication. Finance companies for instance follow this tactic exactly. This prevents any misuse of company proprietary data being sent in wrong hands. In addition, monitoring e-mails also ensures that any illegal stuff is not being discussed. These finance companies learnt this from their experience of the past and subsequently employed e-mail monitoring of the intra-office network. As a consequence, there have been very few cases of lawsuits being filed against the company.

In sum, the issue of e-mail monitoring is not a black and white case. Generally, it might be well advised to do without proscribing freedom in the office network.