The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council."An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East

The speaker in the newsletter to the West Meria Public Health Council, avers to have

found a cure to absenteeism in its schools and workplaces. The claim is that the use of

Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil - which provides immunity from

cold will improve the overall health, the cold being the most frequent reason of absence.

The argument relies on several unjustified assumptions, weak analogy and is deficient in

establishing valid statistical supports for the claim presented. Moreover, the study report

mentioned is vague, the sample size and demographics of the same not specified and the inference

drawn is confusing signs of a thing for the thing itself.

The speaker rests on a study report of East Meria where high consumption possibly

resulted in lower reported cold treatments. Firstly, the relation between East Merian

and West Meria is unclear - their geography, political condition, economic state etc.

Secondly, there is no mention of the surveying body that actually conducted the survey.

Thirdly, "High consumption of fish" is too vague to be considered apropos of a relevant

discussion. Maybe, it is likely that there the doctors in East Meria charge a hefty

fee for the treatment such that the locals cannot afford. Proper connection has to be established

between both the regions before drawing parallels.

Moreover, even if the high consumption of fish caused a reduction in cold, whether was it the cause or

just a coincidence has to be noted too. The East Merian's might be taking extra precaution

regarding or their health, exercising more, eating healthy - an overall salubrious lifestyle.

Also, there is not any mention of the sample and the period on which the study was conducted.

The exact demographics of the sample population, sample size has to shown to authenticate the research.

Whether or not the control group was incorporated goes unmentioned too.

Furthermore, the affordablity of the supplement is unknown. Will an average bloke of West Meria

be able to buy these pills for daily consumption? The prevailing economic condition is an essential

factor in determining this. The motive behind the proposition is muddy as well. The speaker could

well be a partner in the fish oil supplement industry, and the recommendation of the West Meria

Health Council for daily consumption of the pills is surely going to soar his sales. All these

evidences need to be warranted before making the statement of recommendation.

All in all, to prescribe the fish oil supplement as the panacea for battling low attendance,

a host of significant evidences need to be substantiated. Robust vindication has to be provided.

Flimsy research studies, vague analogies, extended conclusions, and unjustified motives have to

be inspected before taking any executive steps in the promotion of the fish oil supplement.