In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

College is a place where signifacnt personal development in the life of an individual takes place. Not only a time to research and study in depth the topic of your major, but also to explore various other avenues. This serves multifarious purposes: getting some inkling in various of fields of study, learning interaction between these disciplines, searching for one's true passion, and also a source of joy through learning. The delight of garnering knowledg, though, generally comes from the will to excel, and perceived improvement in self-understanding of these schemas. These passion and everlasting pleasures can quickly diminsh if one is coerced to undergo lucubration.

The concept of an ideal well-rounded individual is cherished in the modern age. Men and women both, having insight into future, idea of the existing literary works and technology, and also, the age old learning of the past. Apart from the aforementioned attributes, it is expected that individuals possess virtuous values, cherised ethics and a humanitarian approach to all aspects of life. It could be daunting to install these numerous features all at once. Despite the complexity, it is not an unsurmountable task, it just needs proper planning and guidance. To have a wide undertanding of things, being a

better human being starts right from the early days of one's life. A decent cultural atmosphere, good value belief system, admiration of knowledge serves only for the better to nurture well-rounded people. It is more so the interaction of myriad of elements that it takes to build up an individual than, a few didactic course lectures or bookish instructions.

Not only that rigid system would fail to bring up well rounded individuals more often than not, the practical considerations of employing such a tactic has to be noted as well. It is not feasible for all colleges to make room for such a possibility. Different colleges have diiferent needs, student population, faculties, culture, economic status, and most importantly, different purpose. Consider the possibility that the world renowned California Institute of Technology mandates compulsory study of poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature to students who were enrolled in aspirations of learning Material Science Engineering. Not only would that be preposterous, but, the concern of the students not learning their major subject single mindedly be

looming over their head. Hence, making the study of these subjects compulsory would be dogmatic and wasteful. Continuing with the Caltech example, the college's purpose is to produce students that have a well understanding of natural sciences and other disciplines

offered in the institue, and further contribute to the growth of mankind by collaborating in the academic world, joining private firms, offering products and services via startups, out of many. What these puruits require is an in-depth knowledge of their major subjects

and the relevant projects. Granted that studying a few courses here and there would add to the diverse knowledge of students, but, making these imaginative literatures necessary is a step to far.

Although, in the admirable pursuit of making well-rounded individual, it would not be a far-fetched claim to ask students to voluntarily enroll in these literatures. Voluntary has what compulsion has not: freedom. A free mind imbibes ideas much better than when forced to do the very same ideas. It has to be considered that individuals have personal interests as well. A general atmosphere for raising multifaceted people could indubitably be the best step, the adminstration and enlightened ones can resort to. Nourishing ideas in an open environment provide for a whole lot of growth opportunities than some classroom based teaching technique, and once, these ideas are well established within the individuals, they can work for themselves in this admirable pursuit and the onward journey. Maybe introducing some concepts of humanitarian values, getting students some hands-on experience on social welfare activities can help. These undertakings shall serve as a motive to let the noble thoughts seep through their brain, along with the routine study of the college courses that they are doing.

In sum, to achieve a huge task, one has to start with small baby steps. Importantly, if the goal is to make people learn something which is not very technical or easy to do, breaking down the large problem into sub-problems is wise. Rather than forcing them undergo bookish reading to learn for themselves, making a favourable environment for growth and learning along with a few voluntary activities is the way to go. Looking forward to a brighter future without incorporating for the nuances of the present would not be fruitful in the long run.