The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for thei

The letter to the president of the Seatown University takes issue of the higher faculty retention at the nearby Oceania University due to free tuition provided to their college-aged children at the university. Though the argument may have merit, it rests on unproven premises, questionable assumptions and lacks any substantive evidentiary proof.

The primary flaw in the argument is the lack of substantiated evidence. To validate the idea, the author refers to a study conducted at nearby Oceania university, where faculty retention was higher when professors where financial aid was provided for their college aged children. Not only does this claim lack quantification, it does not provide the particulars of the study that this has been drawn from. Parameters to be looked out for are: integrity of the conducting body, details about the population sample, time period during which it was held, eligibility criteria for waived tuition fee at the university. If the probe consisted of only professors only in the Arts department, whose kids are also interested to pursue career in Arts, and there happens to be a shortage of Arts students, it would have been convenient for the Oceania University to waive their fees off. Furthermore, was this conducted on a period of 5 years, 2 years, or the previous month. If it was shorter, it is likely that less professors left the University, and hence a larger faculty retention. The exact faculty retention has to be examined too - was it 50%, 20% or 3%. The cost of free tuition for professor's progeny has to be weighed against their economic value as well, before making any further conclusions.

Not only the lack of supporting information, but also the flimsy assumptions weaken the writer's stance. There is no mention of any obvious similarity or correlation between both the Universities. It would not be surprising to note that a University with a large funding can afford their professor's children free tuition at the same University. The salaries paid matter as well. Everyone is in a search for better financial and growth opportunities. If the Oceania University pays a good deal to their professors, again, it would not be startling to find what the stud suggested.

It is not to say that the argument is completely flawed. To bolster his thesis, the author should provide verifiable substantiation and quantification of the data, so that a more comprehensive analysis can be done. Also, there argument rests on plenty of questionable premises. Clearly explicating these vague ideas will also help to provide a more persuasive argument.

In sum, the author's illogical argument suffers from numerous flaws. To convince the reader, he must largely rephrase the argument, offer evidentiary support, fix his logical flaws and explicate his assumptions as to why the faculty retention at Oceania University is higher. Otherwise, the tepid argument is likely to convince few readers.