The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any

The preceeding memo raises issue to the drop in attendance of the Super Screen-produced movies in the past year, citing a recent report from the marketing department to be the valid indicator for this evidence. The author further predicts that this effect is not due to the poor quality of movie they are producing but because of the lack of awareness of the people. Thus, he appeals for a raise in the annual budget allocated for advertisement. Though the claim may have merit, it suffers heavily from unreasonable premises and assumptions, lack of sufficient substantitation and unasnwered questions that make the case ambiguous. Hence, the argument presented in the memo cannot be taken as valid.

The primary issue with the claim is the lack of evidentiary support. Firstly, there is no gurantee of the report cited to be statistically signifcant or conclusive. What if the report included data from only three months for the past year and extrapolated the same to reach conclusion? Furthermore, there feedback for the movies by the customers is probably not worthy enough to be considered representative of the population. What if less than one percent of the crowd actually saw the movie? In that case, it is hardly relevant whether the percentage of positive reviews increased or not. Perhaps, it is the poor movie production which is reponsible for low turnout of audience and allocating more budget to advertising is immaterial.

In addition, the author's untenable assumptions further dampen the cogency of the argument. Is the budget for the advertising already high? In that case, a further raise might hamper with the overall production and make the work infeasible in other departments. The worst case scenario might provide no flexibility to play around with the budget, if the Super Screen Movie is already in a money crunch situation; which could be plausible given the low interest shown by people in recent times. Also, the overall market scenario has not been considered by the writer. What if other rival companies are faring better by producing movies more suited to their taste? Thus, it might be wise for the managing directors to review the movie content and make it more alligned with the genres in public demand.

Although the memo presented previously is flawed, it not to say that it is entirely without merit. If the marketing department has produced a valid report about the dropping number of Super Screen movie goers, then does raise some concerns. And perhaps as the reponse to movie has been positive despite low interest in the overall crowd, it might be that only the ardent fans of this production company are aware of their new projects. Thus, focussing more on advertising and awareness issues is well judged.

In sum, the argument provided by the author is illogical. In order to set the claim on sound footing, he must largely rephrase his thesis, provided adequate evidentiary information, explicate assumptions about the overall observation of Super Screen movie goers, and answer the pertinent questions. Without a proper overhaul to his lukewarm argument, he is likely to persuade a few people at best.