The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given argument is flawed for numerous reasons. On a casual read, the argument looks valid, but on careful scrutiny, a number of flaws come in.The flaws being- the validity of the 'report' and the quality of films. Hence, the truth of the argument is limited.

First, the argument relies on the recent report. The veracity of this report is in question. In what conditions was this report done? What about the nature of the people surveyed? They could be loyal to the production house or the question asked to them could have been manipulative to get a positive answer. The number of people surveyed could have been only from a film crazy area, like Mumbai, where people give the same reponse to a good movie as well as a bad movie. The report also says that less number of people watched. It is possible that the economy was down, and people just cut down on the expenses of films(like the 2008 recession) or the economy was good but people turned to other entertainment sources. With these unanswered questions, the report's validity is under question.

Second, the argument makes an unwarranted assumption about the quality of the films. The actors in the film might not be good in expressions or dialogue delivery. The amount of money invested in producing the film could have reduced. The direction, the music, the editing, the storyline and other elements of the films could have not appealed to the viewers and they could have stopped watching the production house's films. In this case, more dollars need to be invested in the film's quality and not on advertising the movies. Even if one vouches for the quality of the films, the number of films released could have peaked to an all time high in the past year, resulting in a reduction in per film viewreship. There could have been another great sporting events which attracted all the attention, like FIFA world cup and less people watched the movies. The details of these need to be known before reaching a conclusion.

Finally, the argument does not throw light on the amount of budget already allocated to advertising and creating awareness. It could already be too high. It also says that a greater share should be allocated to advertising, but does not comment by what margin. Will the allocation be doubled or tripled or what fraction of the total buget expenses be given to allocation?

In the end, the argument considers a number of assumptions but gives no evidence to back them, does not assume cases where the problem could be elsewhere, in their control or beyond their reach. Thus, the memo given is not valid.