The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon. "For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance a

Symphonies and public concerts are big events. It takes a dependable and dedicated team to organize these gatherings, which in turn solicits significant amount of funding in order to entertain the targeted audience. In the preceding article in the Grandview Beacon, the author highlights that the city symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget; citing the rising private fundings for the previous year, increased attendance in one of their events and raised ticket prices from the following year. Though the argument may have merit, it suffers from a lack of warranted evidences, questionable premises and assumptions, no legitmiate quantification of data and fails to answer numerous questions regarding the subject of the matter. Based solely on the thesis provided, the recommendation seems invalid.

The primary flaw in the argument is unsubstantiated evidences. Vague numbers have been offered by the author: 200% rise in private investments, increasing ticket prices from next year, attendance being doubled at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series. It is not possible to aver something reasonable from these numbers independently, so, context has to provided to extrapolate this data and infer. How significant is a 200% rise in private fundings in context of the budget of the symphony? Perhaps, the previous number is still so meagre to fulfill the cost requirements of the big event that even such a raise cannot fill the gap. Also, how crucial is the attendance in the concerts-in-the-park series in the overall picture of the event? Maybe, it is a charity event which gathered a large audience, thus, contributing nothing but voluntary donations in the chain of events.

Not only the lack of legitimate evidences, the argument is further weakened by the presence of vague assertions made by the author. Since, the private funding rose the previous year, the same trend is going to be the case in future, is an unreasonable assumption mad einherently. What was the motivation or the cause of surge in the private fundings? Was it a selfish move to improve the personal image and popularize one's business affiliations? These questions remain unanswered by the documented article. If this was the case, then the symphony cannot depend on these investors for funding, and therefore needs an alternate source for money.

Also, the high attendance has been linked to growing popularity of the event, and confused by the author to be one step further to indicate that the symphony is close to being self-sufficient. Correlation does not imply causation. Perhaps, heavy advertising in the previous edition garnered the attention of the audience, or it was the zeitgeist of the year that drove people to such extravaganza. Without establishing these open-ended doors of possibilities, to aver that the symphony is not depended on crowd funding is hasty.

In sum, the illogical thesis has a lot of holes in the analysis. To concvince the readers, the author must rephrase his argument, provide substantiation and quantification to his claims, justify his unerasonable assumptions, and further explicate the relation between his points and the conclusion draewn henceforth. Without amending the argument, he is likely to persuade a few readers.